Off-Broadway theater company Primary Stages sent out a siren to their vast community of artists a week after the 2016 election asking them to write a short monologue showing various characters' reactions to waking up and finding out who our new President was. Over 80 responded and the pieces will be performed at the Cherry Lane Theater this weekend, February 18 and 19. Check out our video from the press event to learn more.

The full list of playwrights who contributed pieces for Morning in America: Dan Ahearn, Kristin Anderson-Lopez, Courtney Baron, Alex Beech, Stephen Belber, Brooke Berman, Lee Blessing, Emily Bohannon, Stephen Brown, Bekah Brunstetter, Matthew Capodicasa, Jonathan Caren, Nat Cassidy, Kathleen Clark, Cynthia L. Cooper, Kate Cortesi, Cusi Cram, Emily Daly, David Davila, Eisa Davis, Richard Dresser, Laura Eason, Bruce Faulk, Shaun Bennet Fauntleroy, Kate Fodor, Daisy Foote, Julian Giat, Judy Gold, Jason Grote, Michael Hollinger, Willy Holtzman, Tina Howe, Rachael Jenison, Yanna Jurado, Russell Kaplan, Boo Killebrew, Alessandro King, Deborah Zoe Laufer, Brandon Marianne Lee, Rehana Lew Mirza, Michele Lowe, Jessica Luck, Mariah MacCarthy, Cheri Magid, Michael McKeever, Terrence McNally, Winter Miller, Leah Nanako Winkler, Dan O'Brien, Topher Payne, Mike Poblete, Brian Pracht, Kat Ramsburg, Theresa Rebeck, Janet Reed, Kristine M. Reyes, Karina Richardson, Edwin Sanchez, Julian Sheppard, Crystal Skillman, Mat Smart, Tommy Smith, Susan Soon He Stanton, Samantha Stone, Tatiana Suarez-Pico, Caridad Svich, Daniel Talbott, Jonathan Tolins, Ken Urban, Richard Vetere, Eljon Wardally, Jenny Rachel Weiner, Sheri Wilner, and Stefanie Zadravec.